Porsche’s Kevin Estre Snatches Pole From Cadillac in Le Mans 24 Hours Hyperpole Qualifier

Kevin Estre was the star of qualifying as he secured pole in his Porsche 963 with a last-minute lap of 3m24.634s.



1 mins read


Published on June 14, 2024

Follow us on



  • Cadillac's Alex Lynn and Sebastien Bourdais ended up second and third, respectively
  • The session was interrupted by a crash involving BMW's Dries Vanthoor
  • Louis Deletraz took the LMP2 pole, while Brendan Iribe topped the LMGT3 class

In a spectacular Hyperpole session that went down to the wire on Thursday, Porsche's Penske team secured pole position for the Le Mans 24 Hours, edging out Cadillac in an intense all-LMDh battle. Kevin Estre, driving the #6 Porsche Penske 963, clocked a remarkable 3m24.634s lap in the final moments, earning Porsche its first Le Mans pole since 2016.



Estre's heroics came after a dramatic session filled with strategic plays and a red flag incident. Sebastien Bourdais initially held the provisional pole with a 3m24.816s lap in the #3 Cadillac but chose not to run again after a crash involving BMW's Dries Vanthoor caused a session stoppage. This decision opened the door for Estre, who outpaced Alex Lynn's #2 Cadillac by 0.148s after the chequered flag.

Despite Cadillac's strong showing, a grid penalty from the previous WEC round at Spa demoted the #2 car, placing the #6 Porsche alongside the #3 Cadillac on the front row. The second row will feature the two factory Ferrari 499P’s, followed by the #35 Alpine.

This year's Le Mans promises to be a gripping 24-hour race, with Porsche, Cadillac, and Ferrari all vying for victory in a highly competitive field.



Starting Grid:

Hypercar Class:

  1. #6 Porsche Penske 963 - Kevin Estre
  2. #3 Cadillac V-Series.R - Sebastien Bourdais
  3. #2 Cadillac V-Series.R - Alex Lynn
  4. #51 Ferrari 499P - Alessandro Pier Guidi
  5. #50 Ferrari 499P - Antonio Fuoco
  6. #35 Alpine A424 - Paul-Loup Chatin
  7. #15 BMW M Hybrid V8 - Dries Vanthoor

LMP2 Class:

  1. #14 AO by TF ORECA-GIBSON 07 - Louis Deletraz
  2. #28 IDEC Sport ORECA - Job van Uitert
  3. #65 Panis Racing Oreca - Mathias Beche
  4. #48 IDEC Sport Oreca - Paul Lafargue
  5. #22 United Autosports USA - Phil Hanson

GT3 Class:

  1. #70 McLaren 720S GT3 - Brendon Iribe
  2. #92 Manthey PureRxcing Porsche 911 GT3 R - Aliaksandr Malykhin
  3. #66 JMW Motorsport Ferrari 296 GT3 - Giacomo Petrobelli
  4. #83 AF Corse Ferrari 296 GT3 - Robert Kubica
  5. #34 Walkenhorst Motorsport BMW M4 GT3 - Henry Walkenhorst
Stay updated with automotive news and reviews right at your fingertips through carandbike.com's Google News

Related Articles

Latest News